Upcoming Events

There are currently no events
View All Events

Contact Us
12535 Old Frederick Rd
Sykesville, MD 21784
Emergency Dial 911
Station 3: 410-313-5403

Web Counters
Website Visitors
April 24, 2007
Visitors Today
Dec 01, 2023
2020 WFVFD Awards Banquet
Email Print RSS Facebook Twitter RSS

By Firefighter/EMT Pieter Lucas
January 30, 2021

While we were physically apart, members were able to meet virtually for our annual awards banquet tonight. The food wasn't great, but we were glad to be able to revisit and reflect on the past year.
After an invocation by Chaplain Ryan Eglseder we took a moment to remember members we lost last year, Shirley Mills and Will Spicer. Both were longtime members who contributed greatly to the department, and we miss them dearly.
Chief Mickey Day and President Stan Kitzinger introduced the operational and administrative officers for 2021, who were then sworn in by Joel McCrea, Maryland State Firemen's Association First Vice President.

Service Pins were given for length of service:
5 years: Josh Dillon, Toni Konold, Mike Lowman, Matt Merkel, Thomas Saitta, Sierra Smith
10 years: Sandi Hawkins, Sean Hussle, Jeff Rizzo, Martha Roles
15 years: Chris Cobleigh
30 years: Ron Hoffman, Jr.
50 years: John Mills

Additional awards were bestowed:
Earl Molesworth Life Member of the Year Award: Mickey Day

Top EMS Responders: Mike Lowman, Joey Hemphill, Jeremy Meyer, Patrick Jeffery, and top EMS responder Bambi Nelms

Top Fire Responders: Jeremy Meyer, Matt Merkel, Mark Miller, Mike Lowman, and top Fire responder Patrick Jeffery

Top Combination Fire/EMS Responder: Trent Fuller, Mark Miller, Mike Lowman, Jeremy Meyer, and top combo responder Patrick Jeffery

Duty Crew of the Year: Saturday Night

Charles H. Ridgely Memorial Award (outstanding administrative member): Vice President Peter Konold

The Shirley Mills Administrative Honor Roll recognized members who went above and beyond while participating in various Administrative activities:
Bylaws Committee: Larry Reed
Building Committee: Eric Pelicano
Facebook Administrator: Matt Merkel
Food Truck Tuesdays: Leanne Titcomb, Hazel Heffner, Ron Hoffman, Sr., Jane Hoffman, Anita Poprosky, Donald Ridgely
Fair Committee: Shannon Spicer, Joey Hemphill
Banquet Committee: Toni Konold, Jeannine Reed
Call/Duty Crew Tracking: Keri Bridgett, Melissa Cerisi-Greenbaum

We were then fortunate enough to have guest speaker Bert Nixon, Director of Environmental Health from the Howard County Health Department join us and give us a first-hand look at the work the Health Department is doing to provide coronavirus vaccines to county residents.

The William T. Dorsey Rookie of the Year award was given to Josef Neschis

Luke T. Hoffman Training Award: Patrick Jeffery

Officer of the Year: Captain Kyle Fischer

Erik P. Steciak EMS Member of the Year: Joey Hemphill

Career Person of the Year: Lt. Brad Hobbs

Duty Crew Member of the Year: Tim Titcomb

Firefighter of the Year: Mike Lowman

Thanks as always go to the Banquet Committee for organizing this hopefully one-of-a-kind banquet. We look forward to a healthy and prosperous 2021!

Add a Comment Add a Comment 0 Comment(s)

Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
West Friendship Volunteer Fire Department
P.O. Box 439
West Friendship, MD 21794-0439
Emergency Dial 911
Station 3: 410-313-5403
Copyright © 2023 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)