Upcoming Events

There are currently no events
View All Events

Contact Us
12535 Old Frederick Rd
Sykesville, MD 21784
Emergency Dial 911
Station 3: 410-313-5403

Web Counters
Website Visitors
April 24, 2007
Visitors Today
Sep 24, 2020
WFVFD Holds 75th Anniversary Banquet
Email Print RSS Facebook Twitter RSS

By Firefighter/EMT Pieter Lucas
April 13, 2019

Tonight WFVFD members were pleased to celebrate our 75th Anniversary at the Ten Oaks Ballroom in Clarksville. After dinner retired HCDFRS Chief John Butler, currently Fairfax County Fire and Rescue's chief, presided over the awards ceremony along with Chief Mark Miller and President Theresa Collins.
Service Pins:
5 Years: Nick Schwarz, Kevin Sharpe, John Logan
10 Years: Matt Saunders
15 Years: Norma and Will Spicer
50 Years: Gary Unverzagt. Gary (life member, and former Chief and President) was also presented with several citations recognizing his many years of service including a citation from State Senator Katie Fry Hester, an Executive Proclamation from Howard County Executive Calvin Ball declaring April 13, 2019 as "Gary Unverzagt Day", and a resolution from the Howard County Council presented by David Yungmann, Howard County Council District 5 council member.

Chief Miller then presented Deputy Chief Mickey Day a Special Recognition Award for his many years of service as Chief of WFVFD.

Top Responder awards:
Top EMS Responders: Stan Kitzinger, Will Schwarz, Josh Dillon, Bambi Nelms, Eric Pelicano.
Top Fire Responders: Patrick Jeffery, Zack Leaf, Scott Christiansen, Gary Unverzagt, Eric Pelicano.
Top Combination Fire and EMS Responders: Josh Dillon, Patrick Jeffery, Zack Leaf, Gary Unverzagt/Scott Christiansen (tie), Eric Pelicano.

Duty Crew of the Year: Sunday Night
Duty Crew Member of the Year: Josh Dillon

Earl Molesworth Memorial Award (Outstanding Life Member): Ron Hoffman, Sr.
Charles H. Ridgely Memorial Award (Outstanding Administrative Member): Dan Poprosky
Willam Dorsey Rookie of the Year Award: Joey Hemphill
Luke T. Hoffman Training Award: Rick Farrell
Erik P. Steciak EMS Member of the Year Award: Bambi Nelms
Career Person of the Year Award: Captain Bob Wiseman
Officer of the Year: Trent Fuller
Firefighter of the Year: Patrick Jeffery

Operational, Administrative, and Auxiliary officers as well as Board of Directors members were then sworn in by Chief Butler. After the benediction by Chaplain Ryan Eglseder, music and fellowship were enjoyed by all. We look forward to a successful rest of 2019 and the next 75 years!

Add a Comment Add a Comment 0 Comment(s)

Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
West Friendship Volunteer Fire Department
P.O. Box 439
West Friendship, MD 21794-0439
Emergency Dial 911
Station 3: 410-313-5403
Copyright © 2020 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)